Tale of Love 2

I held my breath. My heart beat fast as I started to feel the adrenaline inside my bloodstream. Nothing stirred, and the silence filled the air. Her countenance was pale and stone-dead. She did not move, nor did she show there was a life in this 35-year-old body of hers. Suddenly, I spotted the movement of her green, emerald eyes. Breaking the emptiness of the silence, I let out a cry of relief. She looked blank as she had not the knowledge of what had just happened. Hesitating, she proceeded to question me her curiosity, “What had just happened to me?” Giving a little smirk, I answered, “I thought you were dead! But thank God, you’re alright.” As if she were mimicking me, she cried with a great relief and started to laugh showing a smirk on her face. She has always been being able to make fun of every circumstances. This quality made her unique, and this quality made me love her.

 

I remember the day when we first met in a coffee shop in Berlin. The coffee shop was full of people. One could hear laughter filled up the air making the atmosphere more cheer for a young freshman on his solo trip like me, which made me forget all the loneliness I had. The moment I entered the shop, my eyes accidently caught hers. We both showed friendly smiles and resumed our separate business. After a few minutes, I walked back and forth trying to find a seat, yet, it was in vain. Seeing my struggling to find a place, she offered me to sit with her, and I gladly accepted. Clearly did I recollect how she was holding a Les Misérables in her hands, and how I complimented her on her good taste in literature. This was when the sparks ignited. We then kept talking about random things from our favorite books to our dreams. With a blink, the four hours’ happiness and intimacy were over, and we had to bid each other adieu. Before separating, our numbers were exchanged because it’s nice to have someone who shared the common interests. “Ich finde du nett und ich hoffe, ich kann du noch einmal wiedersehen.“ I flirted with my broken German. Turning her head a little, she smiled and said, “Es ist dich, Dussel.” I gave a smile as a sign of appreciation to her correcting me.  And we walked in an opposite way.

 

Later that night, I couldn’t sleep. I was tossing and turning trying to find my comfort position to sleep, but to no avail. I couldn’t stop thinking about her, contemplating our lives together. Vividly did I memorize everything about her. Her white complexion was hidden behind her tanned skin complementing her beauty. Her smile was as soft as summer rain, and her greenish eyes could turn one into stone by losing himself in his own reverie. Handmade necklace and exotic Middle-Eastern earrings were the only ornaments to enhance the charming allure she held. She resembled Hebe, the goddess of eternal youth, very much. That night, I determined that she should be my wife.

 

Here I was, looking at her as a husband of 10 years.  Adelicia’s grown old. There were some fine wrinkles on her face. She’s not as beautiful as she used to be. She had become thinner. She had become weaker. She had become more dependent. She was a fragile creature: she had diarrhea; she had convulsion; she had problems swallowing; she lost her hair; and she urinated blood. Yet, she’s still the same woman I met in Berlin during my solo trip. As a husband, I must protect her from the harms outside.

 

Although the memories made me nostalgic, I knew it’s no use thinking about the past. Waking me up from my imagination, she cough as soft as thunder. So, I handed her a glass of water hoping she would get better because, according to my knowledge, drinking a large amount of water made one healthy. She gave a smile of appreciation and took the glass from me. Sitting next to her, I watched her slowly and troublesomely finish drinking the water from the glass. Suddenly, she jerked in panic, and her eyes widened. I knew exactly that she couldn’t breathe, but—alas, I was no doctor—I was not able to help her. She tried to grab hold of my arm so hard that I could felt the burning sensation. I held my breath again hoping she’d be okay just like a few minutes ago. A minute felt like hour as she continued to fight for her life. However, in less than a minute, her brain was suffocating, and she was at the end of her tether. Her body became less active, and her breath became slow. I watched the futile creature helplessly struggle to breathe. For an instant, the creature was not moving anymore, but laying motionlessly on her dying bed.  Slowly, I smiled to show my achievement. The arsenic in the water had done its work.

 

Her everything is mine now.

