Tale of Love

You will fancy me mad if I apprise you of my tale of woe; but I am assuring you that never in my life have I been preposterous, nor will I be. Had you been in my shoes, you would fathom me for doing so. I can proclaim that I bear her no malice, and I will divulge this arcane tale of mine. Now, pay attention and hark carefully when I’m recounting.

It’s essential that I tell you how it all started. She was a woman of my dream, the one to whom I would devote my life. I longed for her; I was aching for her. I couldn’t find any iota of imperfection in her; her perfection is disproportionate to mine. Her luxuriant tresses had made me so convulsed with adoration. She never did me wrong; she never insulted me, nor did she be churlish to me. Her deportment was splendid. She was a vivacious woman. I was really fond of her blue eyes, her rose-liked cheek, her lip, her nose—oh, everything that was about her was so beautiful. My attachment toward her was ineffable as we both started talking to each other. Ere long, we got along famously. One day, I asked her out, and she gaily agreed; it was the day when I knew I would do anything to be with her. That night, she looked so soigné, and I was merely keeping staring into her beauteous, fine, blue eyes. After then, there came best day of my life when “Yes” is the only word she uttered, but it still flabbergasted me so much that I was elated and addled, for I deemed she would never spend her life with a cuckoo numbskull like me. Henceforth, we moved out and settled down together without her parents knowing, for they deemed I loved her for her wealth. It wasn’t true! But we finally managed to be together after the storm.

For yonks, we had never been feuding, nor quibble about trifle matters; but there was a time when altercation commenced. But the catastrophes cannot be foreseen nor weathered. We were shouting and screaming until she began to sob her heart out. Then she suggested we not live together; she would move out next week. Good grief! I had gone astray! No! It shouldn’t be! No, I wouldn’t let it happen. The next day, I rendered her a contrite apology and bought her roses, the ones she was really fond of, as a reconciled atonement for my being estranged from her; but she coldly rebuffed it. Her affection towards me had dwindled; it had declined; it was ebbing away. Sooner, it would be none. Sooner, she would forsake me. Well-a-day, I couldn’t imagine my life with her; I must do something about it even if it was a folly.

That night was the wild night. I could hear the gales and the tempest from the outside. The sound of the thunders filled the air and broke the silence of the peaceful night. I couldn’t sleep that night: my head was so full of the vehement of lamentation mingled with venomous abhorrence. It made me berserk; I couldn’t bear it any longer. It was egging me, inciting me, and perplexing me so badly. So relentless and prodigious was this hysteria vexing me that I need find the resolution—haply, my being a menace. A whim appeared in my head. Yes! It was the best resolution; sooner, she would leave me forever. I got out of the sofa in the living. Although quivering, I made my peace so gently and softly through the planks lest of her knowing my clandestine coming. I could hear the sound of the drum in chest—no, it was my heart, indeed—and it was ringing in my ears. I could feel the fire was igniting within me. Not before long, I was in front of the wooden door; it was the door of our bedroom. I pushed the door so mildly that it begets not a single sound. The hinges made no sound, nor did the planks give a single cracking. I was protruding my head slowly into the room. My slightly protuberant eyes scarcely saw a thing upon account of the room was nearly as dark as asphalt, only a few rays of light could shine through this eerie darkness. I kneeled down beside the bed and turned on the retro lamp. The dim ray of light spread the whole dark room. I could see her sleeping so peaceful, so tranquil. I looked at her in awe; she was beyond perfect, but I couldn’t let her leave me forlorn. Yes, I wanted to grab the lamp and assail her—battered her to death so she couldn’t leave me. But I couldn’t, something in my heart was refraining me from doing so. I was lost in my wondrous reverie when the whole room reverberated to the sound of the thunder. Suddenly, she opened her beautiful blue eyes, gave a horrifying ejaculation and quailed before my inhuman appearance. The pang of the enmity came anew within my heart. I couldn’t think about anything; I just grabbed the pillow and suffocated her by the head. She prodigiously resisted. I wanted to let her go, but I forbore to spend my life without her; I must show no quarter to her, or she would be gone from me forever. I could assure you that it was lesser of two evils. A few minutes later, she didn’t resist anymore—she was stoned-dead. My heart was aching as if it was never going to stop. I was wound down. I cried so hard that my tears were ran out, and I hugged the cold body all night. Yes! She would never desert me again.

She was with me, but she wasn’t in my heart! The following night, I took the corpse out into the forest. I could feel the silence in the darkness. Nothing stirred except the zephyr and the sound that was made by the foliages touching the breeze. The narrow path wound my way to the isolated moor—no one would hear nor saw me. I put the body on the ground, where there was no grass growing, and ignite the fire. The body was blazed, and I watch it burned brightly. Finally, ashes were what it left behind, and I was coming back home with it. It might perplex you why I needed the ashes for, but I could inform you that you would find out soon.

A week passed, I had been drinking wine mixed with the ashes every night before I retired. Everything was normal except that I found a letter in the drawer of my room. I wondered what would it be when I first tore the cover. Good grief! It was to me! Yes! It was to me! It said:

Dear John Newland,

I love you very much. I’ve never been so happy when I am with you. You know that I will never leave you alone. But, now, my parents have found me with you. They are averse to our being together. They want me to leave you, but I insist I stay with you. They really abhor you for making me this way. They threaten me to harm you if I don’t leave you. I have no choice. I don’t want them to do you any harm. I know you really love me, but I am compelled to do it. You will find someone who is better than I am. Please pardon me, dearest John, very truly yours,

Lydia Catherine

Oh! I was repentant. Never in my life had I made such a huge mistake. My heart was aching; my body was quaking; my hands were shivering. How sad and frighten I felt! I couldn’t think of anything else. I shouldn’t have taken her for granted. I wanted to die. I was at the end of my tether. I knew that I was going to be with her when I finished my confession. Now, I shall be with her in just a second.

